Yellowface

Book Review: Yellowface

Yellowface by Rebecca F. Kuang is a powerful and thought-provoking book that left me feeling shaken and moved. From the moment I picked up this book, I was completely drawn into the world of the story and the struggles of its characters.

At its core, Yellowface is a story about identity and belonging. Set in a world where people are divided by race and ethnicity, the novel follows Cassie as she tries to navigate a society that constantly questions her place in it. Through her experiences, we see how our identities shape our lives and how we are often forced to choose between assimilation and resistance.

One of the things that struck me most about Yellowface was how well-drawn its characters are. Each one feels like a fully-realized person with their own motivations, desires, and flaws. As Cassie moves through different parts of society, we see how these characters interact with each other in complex ways that shed light on larger societal issues.

Kuang’s writing is both lyrical and incisive, capturing the mood of each scene perfectly while also conveying deeper meaning about what it means to be human in a world that often seems hostile to difference. She has a real talent for evoking emotion without being sentimental or heavy-handed.

Of course, no book is perfect, and there were times when I found myself frustrated with some of the choices made by certain characters or with aspects of the plot. However, these flaws only served to make me more invested in the outcome of the story – I wanted Cassie to succeed despite all odds because I cared so deeply about her journey.

See also  Positive Psychology: Theory, Research And Applications

Overall, Yellowface is an incredibly powerful novel that delves deep into issues of identity, belonging, and resistance. Its characters are fully-realized and its prose is both beautiful and insightful. If you’re looking for a book that will challenge you while also resonating on an emotional level, then Yellowface is definitely worth reading.

Yellowface

publishedDate : 2023-05-25

authors : Rebecca F Kuang

publishers : HarperCollins UK

pageCount : 336

Yellowface by R.F. Kuang | Goodreads

R.F. Kuang. Rebecca F. Kuang is a Marshall Scholar, translator, and award-winning, #1 New York Times bestselling author of the Poppy War trilogy and Babel: An Arcane History, among others. She has an MPhil in Chinese Studies from Cambridge and an MSc in Contemporary Chinese Studies from Oxford; she is now pursuing a PhD in East Asian Languages …

Yellowface


Yellowface

Author by : R. F. Kuang
Languange Used : en
Release Date : 2023-05-16
Publisher by : William Morrow

ISBN :

Description : So what if June edits Athena's novel and sends it to her agent as her own work? Doesn't this piece of history deserve to be told, whoever the teller? That's what June claims, and the New York Times bestseller list seems to agree. But June can't get away from Athena's shadow, and emerging evidence threatens to bring June's (stolen) success down around her...






Yellowface


Yellowface

Author by : Rebecca F Kuang
Languange Used : en
Release Date : 2024-02
Publisher by : Borough Press

ISBN :

Description : The New York Times bestselling book from literary sensation R.F. Kuang 'A riot' PANDORA SYKES 'Razor-sharp' TIME 'A wild ride' STYLIST 'Darkly comic' GQ 'Satirical and humorous' COSMOPOLITAN 'Unforgettable' WOMAN & HOME Athena Liu is a literary darling and June Hayward is literally nobody. White lies When Athena dies in a freak accident, June steals her unpublished manuscript and publishes it as her own under the ambiguous name Juniper Song. Dark humour But as evidence threatens June's stolen success, she will discover exactly how far she will go to keep what she thinks she deserves. Deadly consequences... What happens next is entirely everyone else's fault. R.F. Kuang's book 'Yellowface' was a #5 New York Times bestseller w/c 04-06-23...






Yellowface Lp


Yellowface Lp

Author by : R F Kuang
Languange Used : en
Release Date : 2023-08-15
Publisher by : Harper Large Print

ISBN :

Description : White lies. Dark humor. Deadly consequences... Bestselling sensation Juniper Song is not who she says she is, she didn't write the book she claims she wrote, and she is most certainly not Asian American--in this chilling and hilariously cutting novel from R.F. Kuang, the #1 New York Times bestselling author of Babel. Authors June Hayward and Athena Liu were supposed to be twin rising stars. But Athena's a literary darling. June Hayward is literally nobody. Who wants stories about basic white girls, June thinks. So when June witnesses Athena's death in a freak accident, she acts on impulse: she steals Athena's just-finished masterpiece, an experimental novel about the unsung contributions of Chinese laborers during World War I. So what if June edits Athena's novel and sends it to her agent as her own work? So what if she lets her new publisher rebrand her as Juniper Song--complete with an ambiguously ethnic author photo? Doesn't this piece of history deserve to be told, whoever the teller? That's what June claims, and the New York Times bestseller list seems to agree. But June can't get away from Athena's shadow, and emerging evidence threatens to bring June's (stolen) success down around her. As June races to protect her secret, she discovers exactly how far she will go to keep what she thinks she deserves. With its totally immersive first-person voice, Yellowface grapples with questions of diversity, racism, and cultural appropriation, as well as the terrifying alienation of social media. R.F. Kuang's novel is timely, razor-sharp, and eminently readable....






Yellowface


Yellowface

Author by : R.F. Kuang
Languange Used : id
Release Date : 2023-10-26
Publisher by : Gramedia Pustaka Utama

ISBN :

Description : June Hayward dan Athena Liu sama-sama penulis. Athena, keturunan Asia, ternyata lebih ngetop. Sementara June berpendapat tak ada yang akan tertarik pada karyanya, gadis kulit putih biasa. Ketika Athena mendadak meninggal, June mencuri manuskrip Athena lalu menyerahkannya sebagai karyanya. Penerbit membuatkan citra baru bagi June, lengkap dengan foto yang ambigu mengenai etnik dirinya. Di luar dugaan, buku itu sukses besar. Namun, June tidak bisa lolos dari bayangan Athena, dan bukti-bukti bermunculan, mengancam kesuksesan June. Saat berpacu untuk menutupi rahasianya, June jadi tahu seberapa jauh ia berani bertindak untuk mempertahankan apa yang menurutnya layak ia dapatkan....






Yellowface


Yellowface

Author by : Rebecca F. Kuang
Languange Used : en
Release Date : 2023
Publisher by : William Morrow

ISBN :

Description : "What's the harm in a pseudonym? Bestselling sensation Juniper Song is not who she says she is, she didn't write the book she claims she wrote, and she is most certainly not Asian American--in this chilling and hilariously cutting novel from the #1 New York Times bestselling author R. F. Kuang in the vein of White Ivy and The Other Black Girl. Authors June Hayward and Athena Liu were supposed to be twin rising stars: same year at Yale, same debut year in publishing. But Athena's a cross-genre literary darling, and June didn't even get a paperback release. Nobody wants stories about basic white girls, June thinks. So when June witnesses Athena's death in a freak accident, she acts on impulse: she steals Athena's just-finished masterpiece, an experimental novel about the unsung contributions of Chinese laborers to the British and French war efforts during World War I. So what if June edits Athena's novel and sends it to her agent as her own work? So what if she lets her new publisher rebrand her as Juniper Song--complete with an ambiguously ethnic author photo? Doesn't this piece of history deserve to be told, whoever the teller? That's what June claims, and the New York Times bestseller list seems to agree. But June can't get away from Athena's shadow, and emerging evidence threatens to bring June's (stolen) success down around her. As June races to protect her secret, she discovers exactly how far she will go to keep what she thinks she deserves. With its totally immersive first-person voice, Yellowface takes on questions of diversity, racism, and cultural appropriation not only in the publishing industry but the persistent erasure of Asian-American voices and history by Western white society. R. F. Kuang's novel is timely, razor-sharp, and eminently readable."--...






Yellowface


Yellowface

Author by : Krystyn R. Moon
Languange Used : en
Release Date : 2005
Publisher by : Rutgers University Press

ISBN :

Description : Imagining China: early nineteenth-century writings and musical productions -- Towards exclusion: American popular songs on Chinese immigration, 1850-1882 -- Chinese and Chinese immigrant performers on the American stage, 1830s-1920s -- The sounds of Chinese otherness and American popular music, 1880s-1920s -- From aversion to fascination: new lyrics and voices, 1880s-1920s -- The rise of Chinese and Chinese American vaudevillians, 1900s-1920s...






Made Up Asians


Made Up Asians

Author by : Esther Kim Lee
Languange Used : en
Release Date : 2022-07-11
Publisher by : University of Michigan Press

ISBN :

Description : Why and how Asian characters have been represented by non-Asian actorson stage and screen...






Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *